Image

PICTORY #05 – TWO FEET AWAY

TOESThe sound was an odd combination of thump and a chink – flesh giving way to the sharp steel and bone resisting. Over and over. It is the last memory I have of my uncle. When they were done with him, they dragged his wife from under the bed and pinned her on top of the table as she screamed for mercy in their own language… then for God to help her.

God was deaf on 20-January-2008.

I cried silently, curled inside the cupboard, hoping they wouldn’t burn the house after. Not knowing that the memory of two feet moving with thrusts and grunts would haunt me from that morning – choking me every time the word Mungiki got mentioned.

‘Pictory’ – A picture and a story speaking of and from each other.

Photography – Kimani Wandaka

Story – Ngartia

5 thoughts on “PICTORY #05 – TWO FEET AWAY

  1. I remember watching my uncle being hacked unconscious on TV in the spark of post election violence in early 2008. It is a miracle he is alive. I shall write his story one of these fine days. It is sad that some people find freedom in the darkness of harming others for empty gain. It is sad.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I have planned to. Got his permission already. Only that he does not want his name mentioned, which is okay by me. I just want the story out. Soon.

        Like

Leave a comment